Que Sera Sera

“So are you married?”

“No Grandma, I haven’t found the right one yet!”

“Well that’s alright dear. It’s better to wait for the right one.”

“exactly! I’d love to be married, but I’m not in too big of a hurry. I’m fine with being alone for now.”

“Well that’s great, you just have to learn to make the best of it either way… whatever happens, you make the best of it.”

“You sure do. I have a great life and I’m happy.”

“I was lucky… I got a good one early.”

“Yeah, grandpa was a pretty great guy”

“We didn’t always see eye to eye, but we make the best of it… OH… I love that song!”

[the song, Que Sera Sera is playing in a commercial for some product I can’t remember. I love Irony.]

This conversation repeats itself 4 or 5 times throughout the 8 hours I spent with my grandmother last weekend. Snippets of wisdom from a woman who helped to raise me, yet doesn’t even remember my name. Alzheimer’s disease is just a heartbreaking disease. I was exhausted after just one day, and my dad has been her full-time care-giver for a year now. I don’t know how he does it. I don’t even think he knows how he does it. I was happy to give him a break, and have committed to giving more time to help him with her when I can. It’s important that he knows he can count on me. Certain things she remembers. She knew that she grew up on a farm. had 12 siblings, had three children of her own. Other times, she talked about packing up her stuff and being ready to go home. And wanting to go check on the “others” in the other room. She said she was anxious at the end of the day… “I just get a little anxious waiting for them, don’t you?” “Yeah, grandma… sometimes I feel that way too. It’s hard.” “Yeah.” she says. “It can be hard waiting. But you make the best of it anyway”

“Yeah. That’s all you can do.”

Leave a Reply

