between a rock and a hard place

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is one of my favorite photos I’ve ever taken. The image of this flowering plant, emerging out of the rock is such a great metaphor. It’s crazy how the roots could take hold in an environment like this. Almost as if the rock itself is solely sustaining the plant enough to create such beautiful flowers. Rocks are such hard, strong, un-yielding structures. This particular rock though, had within it the potential for something beautiful to take root. Surrounded by the shield of this rock, the plant was protected. It wouldn’t be trampled. It clung to the rock and it was sheltered from wind, and shaded from the sun. Not only did the plant grow in this seemingly impossible environment, but it FLOURISHED.

It was just a bunch of flowers, sitting on a wall where no one would notice. No one but a silly girl with a camera. I’ve seen this image hundreds of times since It was captured. It took ten years for me to look at it and finally see my reflection. There is beauty to behold in these rocky places, and hope to be found In the process of perseverance and holding on.

Ps. 61:1-2
Truly my soul finds rest in God;
my salvation comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Leave a Reply

