A wrong right turn

Last night was kind of a big deal. I’ve had profound spiritual moments in my life, where I’ve felt a deep connection to God and felt Him working in my life. I’ve had subtle reminders, slaps in the face, reality checks and re-directions. God is pretty cool in the way He works and last night he was doin WORK!

Here’s what happened.
I have been wanting to get more involved at my church for a long time. It is a really big church, and there are always tons of classes, bible studies, and social groups going on. Thursday nights are my free nights, which just so happens to be the night that the 30’s singles group meets. I finally worked up the courage to go last night. The group was meeting at the chapel, which is a couple blocks past the main campus. I was running a litttttle bit late, which was giving me a little bit of anxiety. I don’t know how it happened, but I ended up driving right by the Chapel. UGH! I knew there was a back road that led to it, so I made a right turn and found the road. I drove through the neighborhood for a little bit, and finally saw the parking lot. There were several cars parked off to the right, so I parked and headed in. There were some other girls walking towards one of the buildings and I figured we were all going to the same place, so I followed them. It only took me a moment to realize that I was now in the High School building, and that I was on the main church campus. OVBIOUSLY, that is why the parking lot was so much bigger. SIgh… It turned out that it was the first night-time meeting of the young adult group that has it’s own service on Sundays. (I’d been to it a couple times) It is young adults in their 20s and 30s. I decided that even through I set out to go to the singles group, God had bigger plans, and I ended up in the right place.

I am SO GLAD I did. It was amazing. The people at my table were really great, we had a lot of fun and had a really good discussion. There was a pastor who spoke and the topic was about Godly men and women who honor God and the things you need to be looking for in a true Godly partner. WOW was this exactly what I needed to hear, or what? The whole time, I just tried to absorb and soak in the words. God knew what it was I needed to hear, and He directed me to exactly where I needed to be. To receive God’s grace and blessings in this way just remind me that He is in charge, and no matter what it is that I think I need or want, His plan is so much bigger and better. I am so thankful and fortunate to be in a place where I am accepting of this Grace. In another point in my life, I might have just turned around, and headed back to where I wanted to go. I’m planning to continue going to this group, and I’m looking forward to continuing to receive the blessings of this wrong right turn.

So my lesson for myself is this: Don’t be frustrated with bumps in the road, wrong turns, etc. I waste time and energy worrying, being anxious, angry or frustrated when things don’t go the way I expect, but I have no idea how these inconveniences are just all a part of God’s plan for me. Sinking deeper in to my faith and trusting in God will give me the ability to just roll with it. Even in the hard times… God is good!

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Leave a Reply

