connecting the dots

I haven’t written in a long time. There have been a lot of changes, and there are so many, many things I am looking forward to in the near future. Dare I say… that things are wonderful. I really do thrive with change and all of the new opportunities that come with it. I wouldn’t say that I get bored easily, but I tend to stagnate and lose my motivation when I have to do the same things over and over again with no end in sight. I think everyone gets burnt out in that way. Lately though, my motivation level has been extremely high!

The most notable change would have to be my living situation. I have been living close to work, in an apartment by myself for 3 years now. I like living so close that I can pop home for lunch during the day and not have to deal with a commute. Having that extra hour and a half has been very nice. Not that I’ve taken full advantage of it, but I appreciate it. I am about to sign a lease on a house with two girls I know. It is scary and exciting all at the same time. It is a new experience and I’m really looking forward to the change. It will also give me an opportunity to save a LOT of money, pay off some bills, and get more in control of my finances. Maybe even buy a nicer car… something that I have never done before. I don’t place a high value on material things, especially vehicles, but it would be nice to have a more dependable mode of transportation. So I’ll be a little farther from work, but a little closer to my family and all the other activities that I do several nights a week.

In addition to that big change, I am also excited about my ultimate Frisbee season with a brand new team, career and personal growth opportunities and the impending arrival of my niece. Yes, my sister is having a girl. I knew the moment she told me that she was pregnant that it was a girl. I just FELT it. Despite having bought a couple pink blankets and onesies, it just doesn’t feel REAL yet. We’re planning the baby shower, and she’s updated all of her baby registry stuff. She feels her move more and more all the time, and she is perfectly healthy.

So all of that should keep a girl busy, right? 🙂 The past couple of years have been quite a journey for me, and times have been pretty tough. I know someday I will look back on these years of finding myself and I’ll be able to see all the little landmarks, bumps in the road and changes in direction have just been leading me down the path I was meant to follow. It’s been a hell of a ride so far, and I can’t wait to see what’s next!

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. Because believing that the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow your heart even when it leads you off the well worn path; and that will make all the difference.”

-Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

