Serendipity

According to Wiki: Serendipity means a “happy accident” or “pleasant surprise”; specifically, the accident of finding something good or useful while not specifically searching for it.

So how do you find something when you’re not searching for it? Quite a dilemma. When we were growing up, my mom always used to ask my little brother to “go find your ____ (shoes, toy, juice bottle, etc)”; and it always used to crack me up because he would say “But Mommy! I don’t know where it is” It was simple logic from a 5 year old.

Here I am, some 20 years later, looking for something, but also… NOT looking. Because that’s what people tell you. You will find love when you STOP looking. It will find you when you least expect it. And that is what I am looking for. Love. I have a set list of qualities that I want to find in a person. There are things that are deal breakers. There are things I am willing to compromise. But above all else, I want to find LOVE. That feeling of butterflies in your stomach when you are excited to see them. The way your heart skips a beat when they smile. The way you can’t remember what life was like without them. That spark of chemistry that is inextinguishable.

Is it possible to stumble upon this by accident? No. I don’t think so. There are no accidents. There are no coincidences. Serendipity is an act of God… the driving force in your life. He leads our every move. I don’t see how it is possible that I ended up exactly where I am without this guidance. Everything happens and doesn’t happen for a reason.

We just have to have the faith to follow His lead.

Leave a Reply

