Challenge begins

Tomorrow marks the beginning of the green smoothie challenge! My fridge is packed with fruits and veggies and I am ready to go. When you are trying to eat and live healthy, failure to plan is most definitely planning to fail. Weekdays often get so busy that it makes it easy to male excuses and fall back into un-healthy habits. In addition to the green juice/smoothie I am going to add to my daily routine, I am also going to my hardest to adopt the following additional healthy habits:

  • Lemon water: I talked about the benefits of lemon in my last post briefly. There are a lot of websites out there that discuss the theory of alkaline vs. acid pH levels in the blood. Lemons are extremely alkaline, so I will be adding lemon slices to my water every day. 
  • Vitamins: I havent been very good about taking my vitamins lately, which is dumb, because it is SO easy! The vitamins I take are: Multivitamin for women, spirulina, astaxanthin, B-complex, garlic and high omega fish oil. Lots of antioxidants! 
  • 60 minutes of activity at least 4 times a week. I am not going to put SO much pressure on myself and say that I will do this every day, and it doesn’t have to be vigorous activity. I will include yoga, walking, etc. Some weeks I will try to be an overachiever and get it in every day. Some weeks I wont. Its all about balance and doing what I can. I play frisbee twice a week, and bootcamp once. I just need to squeeze in a couple more workouts and I’ll be happy. 

I am also really going to try and eat as close to a paleo diet as I can. I was eating paleo for a couple months last year, and I felt great, slept great and got really toned up. 

Well thats all for now. I hope I’m not biting off more than I can chew~ (ha!) 

Leave a Reply

