Going Green

My friend Marnie owns a bootcamp that I love to go to when I can. More than anything, I love the camaraderie with the amazing women who go and the extra motivation that comes from the challenge of the group setting. (Marnie yelling a lot also helps!)

I am so excited that the Babes are doing a green smoothie challenge for the next session. It is a great way to get more nutrition in every day and be thinking about healthy choices all day long. I admit that instead of green smoothies, I will more often be doing green juice. But I think it is pretty similar. I have been a big juicing fan for many years now. I really want to do a video tutorial someday soon, because there are many tips and tricks I have learned over the years that I feel will help those new to juicing adjust. For example, I always skim the foam off the top of my juice. I also drink it ice cold and with a straw.

My favorite juicing mix: (all organic ingredients)

5-6 carrots
2 stalks celery
1/2 small beet
1 gala apple
handful of parsley
1 1/2 cups of spinach

It is very easy to customize with what you have on hand. Bell peppers add amazing spiciness; Garlic is wonderful if you feel like you are getting a cold (just ball it up with the spinach and parsley); Lemon is also a super ingredient for giving it a great zing as well as making it super alkaline; Cucumbers really mellow it out and are very refreshing.

Juicing is a great way to increase vitamin and nutrient intake. Your body immediately absorbs it and it gives your digestive system a break while giving your liver a supercharge. There is no way you would be able to unlock all of the nutrients from the fiber in vegetables without a juicer. Granted, you still need plenty of fiber, so make sure you are also eating plenty of fruits and vegetables.

I’m sure I’ll be sharing more recipes as the challenge ensues. I am excited about this challenge! I feel like it is just the thing to get me back on track.

Leave a Reply

